About us

The Old Timer’s Association of Greater Danbury is an organization that was founded in 1964 by the athletic community of the Danbury area for the following purpose:

  1. To unite and continue the good fellowship that originated in the field of sports and athletic activities in years gone by;
  2. To further sports and good fellowship;
  3. To honor worthy old time athletes and those civic-minded individuals who were associated with sports; and
  4. To establish and maintain a scholarship fund. Through this fund the “Association” will provide financial assistance to deserving area students.

The main event of our organization is our annual Old Timer’s Banquet held each year on the last Thursday of September at the Amber Room in Danbury, CT. At this event, several old timers and civic-minded individuals are recognized and honored for their achievements. Plaques are distributed and a short speaking agenda follows.

In the last few years, we hosted a golf tournament during the month of October. The proceeds from this fundraiser enabled us to make donations for sporting goods and equipment to six area high schools: Danbury High School, Bethel High School, Henry Abbott Technical School, Immaculate High School, Brookfield High School and New Fairfield High School.

In April, applications are distributed to each of the aforementioned schools. Returns are then reviewed by a scholarship committee who selects the recipients. In June, $1,500 scholarships are awarded to two students, one boy and one girl, at 6 area schools (plus ACE when they have a nominee) who will be continuing their education.

Finally, in July or August, we have our annual picnic where our members meet the banquet honorees and our student scholarship winners. Members host the picnic.

This is a brief description of the activities of our organization. As we move forward, we look to expand our role in community projects geared toward athletics. We are in the planning stages to host coaching clinics, sportsmanship clinics, and many other events.

Gerry Healey


John Mulvihill

Vice President

Bill Slifkin


Ted Lucas



No events currently scheduled. Please check back soon.